The world is divided into 16 (plus 5 polar - not operational yet) METeorogical AREAs. This are regions of the seas, with same outer boundaries as NAVAREA, for which specified nations have the responsibility for the co-ordination of the provision of meteorological information. METAREAs are usually divided into sea areas for weather forecast broadcast using EGC, NAVTEX or voice messages through VHF, MF or HF.

» Glossary